2015 Metal Detector Finds

Murray8144

Aug 20, 2015
Essex County, NJ
Detector(s) used
eTrac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Been friends with Toasted for years, and he started metal detecting this past summer. I thought it was pretty cool so I bought an F2 and started up here in Jersey. Over the summer, I took it pretty casual...just basically hitting up my local parks regardless of their age or propensity to deliver older stuff. Of course, I dug clad...lots of clad. I did dig this buckle which I thought nothing of...and subsequently lost. A few weeks ago I saw some folks post the same buckle and i remembered mine. Looked all over the house and my wife finally found it. So this was my first notable find:

IMG_4331.JPG

I'm a consultant in real life, and have made a career by doing historical research on properties. So I put my skills to good use and started pouring hours and hours of research into potential sites in North Jersey.

On October 8 my AT Pro came, and on that day I visited the first site that I had researched and determined might cough up some goodies. It was an old church that had been out of use for several years...dated from the 1860s. Again, this was my 1st time with the AT Pro..and I was swamped. So much trash at this site, and so much coming through the AT Pro's headphones. I didn't find jack squat. After an hour I put away the AT Pro and pulled the F2 back out the trunk. Literally a foot from my bumper, and about 1" deep, was this...my first silver:

IMG_2357.JPG

After that I was hooked bad, but my finds were sparse. A 1961 canadian silver dime and a .925 wedding band for the rest of October.

IMG_8804.jpeg IMG_2954.JPG

November was better...on 11/12 I found my first silver washington quarter at a dry river bed that I used to duck hunt. I hunted some private residential property of family members and during the rest of November I pulled my first Rosies, first Mercs, and first Barbers.

FullSizeRender.jpg