GULF SHORES GREAT PLACE & GREAT PEOPLE

GOLDCATCHER

Greenie
Apr 27, 2008
GULF SHORES GREAT PLACE & GREAT PEOPLE

This is my first year in this area, I am staying at Lazy Lake RV Park on Old Plash Rd. Just off County Rd. 6 we have been here for a month now. metal detecting has been good. It will only get better as time goes on. As more people come into the area. Been working the beaches. Might get a little harder on the beaches now that the beach sweeper are cleaning the beach.but won't slow me down.Always looking for new places to hunt and new people to hunt with. We'll be here until May.

The thing I like the most about the area is how well we are treated by the local people,what a friendly,and helpful group of people,no wonder this is such a popular place to visit. every day is a new adventure. I stoped today and bought a wet suit from Chas Broughton,from Underwater Works,Inc. very helpful and knowledgeable. If you get a chance check out his dive shop. on HWY. 98 Just the other side of Fairhope. don't forget to checkout Lazy lake RV Park with reasonable rates. talk to the owners of the park Ed & Elisabeth, great people. stay awhile, within five miles of the beach. HAVE A GREAT YEAR. IF YOU WANT TO DETECT call 231-578-8638.

pcolaboy

Sep 5, 2006
Pensacola, Fl
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer XS
Re: GULF SHORES GREAT PLACE & GREAT PEOPLE

Welcome to the forum! I live over in Pensacola to the east of where you're staying. If you want an opportunity to find colonial or early american coins/relics, head west from Gulf Shores towards Fort Morgan. I don't think they are currently dragging the sand there but I could be wrong. Go as far west as you can go just short of the Fort Morgan park property. Detect from that point back towards the east. There are many known shipwrecks along the coast and I'm sure many more unknown wrecks whose contents are sure to have spilled onto the beach at some point.