Going legit! How do you keep track?

blacksheep4289

Aug 21, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
/So I've been listing on ebay for two years or so. Nothing crazy just a few items here and there. My wife got a promotion, a raise equal to my income last year, and a free apartment. So we've placed the house for sale, I quit my job, and we moved. I plan to see about listing on ebay(and trying amazon also, any tips for that) full time. Plenty of thrift stores and garage sales to keep a steady flow of inventory. My question is what info do you keep for tax purposes? Do you keep a a receipt book with you and keep track of what you spend? Do you then transfer that info to a spreadsheet or is that what an accountant is for? Have you invested in one of those apps that keeps track of your mileage? Any pointers? Is an ebay store worth it? Is it worth spending $40 a month to sell on amazon?

galenrog

Bronze Member
Feb 19, 2006
In my opinion, which is worth what one pays for it, it that you should sit down with a CPA that specializes in home business. While you will likely will get some good advice here, you will have to separate it from the nonsense and claptrap that may also show up.

Time for more coffee.

trdhrdr007

Bronze Member
Nov 1, 2009