Aztec, Olmec

dtpost

Jan 3, 2011
Florida, Virginia
Detector(s) used
White's MXT,BH
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Was wondering if anyone else was researching Aztec, Olmec artifacts, languages, drawings and so on???? :dontknow:
From the artifacts that I have studied at college and on the net, Aztec and Olmec seem to be the same origin of people. One thing that stands out are the shields that have a swirling symbol on them both from the aztec's and the olmec cultures, as well as the serpent. The eye of "Ra" shows up a lot as well, which everyone knows refers to the sun god, not to be mistaken for the "All Seeing Eye".

piegrande

Bronze Member
May 16, 2010
I am far from an expert on anything at all. But, I never before ever heard the Olmec and Aztecs came from the same people. Except that we all descend from Africa (and recently there is evidence that may not be true). And, most descended from those who came across the Bering. If this is true, I'd sure like to know more.

The people in Cordoba allegedly descended from the Olmecs and Toltecs (sp?) have a totally different appearance from the Aztecs that I know. I do not find the women from Cordoba to be attractive, though where I live in another state they are known to be descended from Aztecs, and some from Popolocas, they are often gorgeous. As my wife and her sister were at age 18. I have met exactly one attractive woman in Cordoba, though of course this involves personal standards of beauty, not a objective view.

I realize this is not important, just saying.

By the way, DNA testing shows the general move from the east, across the Bering, down through the Americas. But, there is allegedly a tribe in eastern Canada which DNA shows came across the ocean directly. If you can access the DNA migration information, that is your best source of information on who is descended from whom. National Geographic seems to be the information warehouse on DNA migration info.