Re: Targets of Opportunity

P

PORTERHUNTER

Hi All I am a newbie here.

I have only been a member at 1 forum since 98 and another one recently.

I found this forum interesting because I changed my lifestyle 7months ago to hiking in the Mountain Range I live in and the beach I live on.

Well now that I have conquered the hiking part I am looking for stuff.

My first ? is the metal detectors.

Do they really work and is there a particular brand in a modest price range that someone can suggest.

I found out the hard way after many storms here on the Oregon Coast to wear gloves when combing the beach as the Ocean has turned up all the bacteria and yes I got Montezuma's revenge.

An aquaintance was lucky enough to find a glass ball the other morning.

I don't get to the beach as often as I would like as it is only accesible for me on my days off after the errands are done.

However as the days grow longer I will have more time to hit the beaches.

Upvote 0

grizzly bare

Aug 30, 2005
Warrenton, VA
Detector(s) used
Garrett CX II/Sovereign SX-2a Pro/Quattro

PORTERHUNTER,
Welcome to the best damn treasure site on the net! Marc, Jeff, wreckdiver do excellent jobs of keeping us all in line and on task. TREASURE HUNTING and SHARING.
Your questions about detectors will start fistfights and lifelong feuds. Everyone has his or her favorite and they all have unbelievable recovery stories. One of the very best is the Ace 250. This was my second machine and did wonders. It can be bought at one of our sponsors(see top of home page) for around $200. Just about everyone agrees that it is a great beginner's tool. If you move on up in price, just about any of the name companies sells dependable machines in th e$500-$600 range. As the machines get more expensive, they also have more features. Each CAN do a great job, but most of them have a short learning curve before you can trust to find good stuff.