Help anyone ???

domino147

Greenie
Aug 26, 2008
Hi all, I am new to this metal detector thing, something I've wanted to try since I was a kid. Tomoorrow my husbby and I are going to the Hampton Beach are in New Hampshire and I am bringing both detectors. One is a Radio Shack model I got brand new at a yard sale and the other is a lesser model which I tried out in the back yard and found an old quarter. Both appear to work well . So, any tips on how to look at the beach,,,, or should we do deep beach sand on the water line ? I admit I have a lot to learn on this hobby and would love any tips or help you can offer. Thanks so much and I promise anything I find I will post pix with and my eternal gratitude ~

Upvote 0

chipveres

Jul 9, 2007
Hollywood, Florida
With the Radio Shack detector, I would search the "blanket line". This is the imaginary line people form when they line up their beach blankets on the firm sand just above the high-tide mark. Often the sand above this is too soft to walk on, and the wet sand makes the detector go off falsely.

Good luck and welcome to Treasure Net!

Chip V.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the most addictive hobby I know where you can have the most fun with your clothes on. You can visit the Master Site to learn how to hunt beaches. I have the honor of meeting Norm many years ago and he taught me to do the "Happy Dance." :hello:

http://www.nmhra.netfirms.com/pulltab/

I copied all the pages and made books of them for reference. Smartest thing I ever did. :read2:

OP
OP
D

domino147

Greenie
Aug 26, 2008