What kind of scoop should I use for shallow water/non-sand lake beaches.....

willisjj

Nov 2, 2005
Owasso, Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Current: Minelab Equinox 800, Tesoro Cibola

Past: Sovereign GT, Garrett Treasure Ace 250, Tesoro Compadre, Etrac, Sovereign XS, Whites 6000D, Garrett Master Hunter BFO
Decided to get out this summer and hit some of these lakes in N.E. Oklahoma. Want to buy a scoop, but not sure what I should go with. Most of these lakes here have mud beaches or are very rocky...not a lot of sand it seems. A lot of the scoops I have looked at on the net seem a little flimsy for this type of shoreline, but I may be wrong. Being a complete novice at any kind of shallow water/beach hunting, I would sure appreciate any advice or recommendations.......

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have used many type of beach scoops and settled on the Sunspot Stralth because of the amount of holes for fast drainage and strength. It has a wood handle that floats it upright too. The small holes in the front are for catching the small earring studs. A good SS scoop will last you years and I never have broke a handle.

Others like the Diamond Head and the RTG scoops by Reilly Treasure Gold.

http://www.gold-scoop.com/thescoop.html

Attachments

• Stealth Scoops.jpg
    Stealth Scoops.jpg
    22.3 KB · Views: 910
  • Stealth Scoops.jpg
    Stealth Scoops.jpg
    22.3 KB · Views: 853
OP
OP
willisjj

willisjj

Nov 2, 2005
Owasso, Oklahoma
Detector(s) used

Past: Sovereign GT, Garrett Treasure Ace 250, Tesoro Compadre, Etrac, Sovereign XS, Whites 6000D, Garrett Master Hunter BFO