In need of help...

lilniki

Greenie
Jun 4, 2010
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Newbie here getting ready to swing her first beach. I get the gist of it, but I was wondering of there where any other helpful tips out there.
I have Fisher F2 and pin pointer, I do not have an official sand scoop but was planning on trying a new rig. I know I need to turn down the sensitivity and discriminate the iron. Is there anything I should think of?
BTW, I am headed to Ormond Beach, just North of Daytona.
Thanks in advance!
HH,
Niki

Upvote 0

mommagpx

Feb 5, 2009
Welcome and good luck!! Don't know much about that machine, nice to see another female on hear!!

OP
OP
lilniki

lilniki

Greenie
Jun 4, 2010
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Thanks! Us girlies gotta stick together. Where do you swing?

M

miser

Hey! Welcome!

Ok, a few tips from a fellow newbie who loves the beach:

1. Make sure you ground balance the machine maually if it doesn't have an automatic ground balance feature built in (sorry, never used your detector so I don't know for sure).

2. You likely will not have to turn down the senstivity until you hit wet sand (why lose the depth until you have have to?).

3. You may need to re-ground balance on the wet sand. No big deal.

4. Get a long handled sand scoop if you can afford it. It really saves on your back. Also, get one made of stainless steel as the aluminum models are heavier. And if it is one of those that has the thin wire mesh in the rear, make sure you get one with a kick brace for your foot (without it, you're likely to bend the wire mesh when you use your foot to press the scoop into the sand). The thicker "Swiss cheese" scoops will not have that problem generally.

5. If you can, rig up a clip to your belt so you just drag the scoop behind you rather than carrying it (that gets old fast). That will allow you simply unclip it when you need it. Also, the scoop will leave a trail in the sand which will mark where you've already searched.