Which Detector Should I Take?

eathan

May 19, 2006
Oregon
Detector(s) used
Goldmaster V-SAT, ACE 250, Lobo SuperTRAQ
I'm heading out on a beach holiday in the not too distant future and want to bring a detector along. Unfortunately, I don't have a beach machine, nor have I done much beach detecting, so am looking for opinions.

I have an ACE 250, a Goldmaster V-Sat and a Lobo SuperTRAQ. I've tried the ACE and the V-Sat on the beach, and while I found coins, etc with both, I wasn't thrilled with either as the sand got wet. I'm thinking about taking the Lobo, but if it's not going to handle wet sand any better, the lower pricetag on the 250 might win out. Airlines are just too good at breaking things...

Any opinions?

Upvote 0

Blind Squirrel

Bronze Member
Apr 15, 2010
NC
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75 SE, Whites PI Pro, Ace 250, Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Not familiar with the Goldmaster or Lobo machines, I do own an Ace 250. Contrary to a lot of what I've read and heard, the 250 does a decent job in the wet sand, if you have your sensitivity set correctly. I found that for the sand on the beaches around here, ( NC & SC) if you hunt in all metal with the sensitivity at four bars the machine will do just fine. Granted it probably won't go real deep, but it does work!!! Give that a try and see how it does. HH Gene

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Since you are going to take the detector on the plane as baggage, take the ACE. You could ship it to your hotel or where you are going to stay also.