Excal II-- Hunting in all metal (pin point) mode. Advantages/Disadvantages

JoelB

Sep 20, 2010
Apparently I have missed the reason that hunting in all metal mode has its advantages.I have read posts and watched videos on this particular way of hunting--but I do not remember anyone telling me WHY! I hunt in discrimination "0" mode as I will dig anything. Why would you hunt in all metal mode and constantly have to switch back to disc. to see if your target is iron or not? They say the more discrimination the less the depth, but if you have the disc. set at 0, it really should not matter--right? Also, is the amount ( area under the coil) covered in pp mode less than disc. mode? If so it just does not seem to make sense. I have about 25 hours under my belt, so I am not an expert by any stretch--just looking for advice from seasoned beach hunters. Set me straight please.

Upvote 0

Les West Central Fl

Bronze Member
Jun 14, 2009
Bradenton, Fl
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Aquasound, Excal 2, Excal (NY), Infinium
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I also hunt in the discriminate mode with the sensitivity on manual.My Excalibur ll gets more depth in this mode but I know several hunters that their machines get better depth in Pin Point Mode. Not all machines are the same.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting