Minelab Excalibur 1000 vs Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II

Daniel in NC

Dec 3, 2005
Charlotte, NC
I have been reading the posts regarding Minelab and it seems as if most people are generally happy with this detector as an underwater detector. I own a White's DFX for land and I have been looking for a good reliable underwater metal detector. I posted on the Shipwreck Forum and heard good things regarding the Minelab 1000. I also heard good things about the Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II. Are these 2 underwater detectors in a totally different class? For the price I am leaning towards the Garrett but if there's much more advantage over the Minelab I would be willing to opt for it. I am new to detecting underwater and will be in fresh water as well as salt. I am looking for something that is user friendly, durable and reliable. Is the Garrett leaned more for novice users.

Thans for yout input.

Daniel

Upvote 0

Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting