Has anyone tried detecting at night before?

EL Pirata Loco

Dec 7, 2008
Detector(s) used
RADIO SHACK 1000
I am always surf fishing at night for big fish but has anyone detected at night? Im new at detecting and i never noticed anyone here in South FL swinging away when i am at the beach?? Anyone go at night where you are at? CA TX NJ NC??

Just curious since where i go, its very empty at night for miles...safe too

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am not near saltwater anymore but there are many reasons many hunters don't detect in the water at night in saltwater. On the shore now it is OK if you are with a buddy that is close by. You don't hear someone sneaking up on you so well when your wearing ear phones.

goodmore

Nov 12, 2008
PA
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX / XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Going to try it tonight in NJ. Never did it before. Two of us. Going to see if we like it. If we do we can beat the parking fees beach fees, traffic, and parking a mile from the beach. We are not going in the water at night, but some wet sand hunting sounds fun.

Buried Crap NJ

Dec 5, 2009
New Jersey
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030, Minelab Excalibur II, Minelab GT,Compass XP-Pro,Fischer 1210X
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Hunt at night all the time in NJ. You can't see what your going to dig in the day why would night matter. Now if your one who needs to look at your finds as you find them then don't go at night. Its like a double hunt first you dig it and then you find out when you get home what you dug. Here in NJ you need to hunt in the dark so your not seen by one of th 8 billion other hunters that DON'T DO THERE OWN RESEARCH!

Daedalus

Feb 2, 2011