What is the best overall Saltwater waterproof unit able to be totally submersed?

Dec 11, 2011
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Hello Again,

You all have helped tremendously giving this Newbie advice on my first detector purchase.

I am brand new at this and have spent the past week researching everything about what kind of metal detector to buy. I have seen countless reviews, videos, manuals and etc. I have just purchased a condo right on the St. Pete Beach in Florida. I am basically retired at 48 and will be there mostly as a snow bird. I plan on metal detecting instead of golfing everyday. My wife and I will be doing this together. I plan on going no deeper than waist deep in the ocean. All I know is I want a waterproof metal detector with a warranty. Also I will be doing wet sand and dry white sand from Key West Atlantic Ocean and Miami to St. Pete Beach and Clearwater Gulf Beaches. I have heard that the Excalibur is the best, but I am afraid of getting one of their lemons, which they say can happen 2 out of 10. I also am not into modifying or changing things like shafts and etc. I have crossed out the AT Pro now because it seems no good in saltwater. I originally thought buy 2 machines the Garrett Sea Hunter for waist deep saltwater hunting and the AT Pro for the beach, because it has a display unit. Someone said bad idea.