Anyone here use a P.I. detector for beach and surf?

1869er

Jan 5, 2009
Florida
Detector(s) used
White's MXT, Garrett Freedom 2 C.C., 1st detector was a 1970's Compass, Finished a MD Surf PI from a kit - my most recent MD.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Just curious if anyone has any experience with a P.I. detector? I've always wanted a submersible metal detector.... But I've never used a Pulse Induction type before. However I've had 3 land detectors... Including an old antique Compass, a Garrett, and White MXT, have no idea how a PI would compare. Are there any particular PI models that stick out as better than others?

Upvote 0

Harold in Fla.

Jul 18, 2007
N.C
Detector(s) used
I use the excel 1000 have been since they came out.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a nice whites Pi pro for sale, they are a deep machine and you dig everything. Harold

Bum Luck

Silver Member
May 24, 2008
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2SE, GARRETT GTI 2500, Garrett Infinium
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I got a Garrett Infinium; I like that - but like Harold says, you gotta dig everything.

Best in non-trashy beaches, but they're DEEP and salt does not affect them.

Get a good scoop; that'll save some time.

DewGuru

Bronze Member
Jul 23, 2010
Gulf Coast Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Sand Shark
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I use the Tesoro Sand Shark, drag it through the water and the wet/dry sand - Works like a champ.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
DewGuru said:
I use the Tesoro Sand Shark, drag it through the water and the wet/dry sand - Works like a champ.

Ditto on the Tesoro Sand Shark. I use the 8" coil.