Need some advice for hunting virgin beaches in Africa...

Selous1851

Mar 16, 2012
Mozambique, Africa
Detector(s) used
Garrett ADS Deepseeker, Garrett GTAx 550
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all... I am in need of some advice. I am an American living and working in Africa and I have access to lots of virgin beaches here in Mozambique. I have never seen any detectorists on the beaches I frequent so I brought my Garrett GTAx 550 w/ DD coil over to check it out. I have been out several times but am not finding anything but trash. I get a lot of false signals. I have noticed there is a lot of Titanium Ore that interrupts my hunting as well. Any suggestions? I am new to beach hunting. I have been md'ing for some time now but mainly soil in the midwest.

Thanks in advance. :happysmiley:

Upvote 0

hamiddetecting

Gold Member
Feb 22, 2012
North Pole
Detector(s) used
Sovereign GT and Excalibur II, Whites, Garrett, Fisher, Alert, MD,Cscope,Tesoro, Compas, XP, Long Rs
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I wish you luck. HH, Hamid

TORRERO

30+ YEARS, XP DEUS I & II ARE MY GO TO MACHINES
Nov 17, 2004
NC
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS I & II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You might try checking the local coins and seeing what type of metal these are, I went to Costa Rica and hunted the beach
and looking at my pocket change everything looked like good copper coins, only to discover that most of these coins are really Iron with a copper coating...
So my detector says "IRON" "NO DIG" ....
I don't know about Africa, but if a place is truly "Virgin" as you say....
I would expect thousands of coins and tons of trash and tons of everything in between...
Try a tourist beach, and see what you get... also some machines just make lots of noise on the wet sand... so
that might be your machine..

trainer

Feb 13, 2009
Primary Interest:
Other
Watch out for the native sharks after they see what you are catching they will bite you hard

OP
OP
Selous1851

Selous1851