Okinawa MD Question

harpda

Nov 24, 2012
Asia
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
I'm new to MD'ing on Okinawa and was interested to know if anyone has tried it on any of the resort hotel beaches. I assume that you have to be staying at the hotel to actually use their beach but you never know considering how polite the Japanese are. To those who MD in okinawa, have you ever tried it on resort beaches like Moon Beach, etc.? Any feedback would be great.

Also, what are the most crowded beaches on Okinawa?

I just ordered a metal detector today from amazon.com and can't wait to get out there and start finding 500 Yen coins!

Upvote 0

CASPER-2

Gold Member
Jan 3, 2012
NEW ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
WHITE'S XLT, PI PRO, GARRETT 2500, 3- FISHER CZ21s, JW FISHER 8X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There is a guy on another forum I think that lives on Okinawa and TH's

Bobbypins

May 31, 2008
Okinawa, Japan
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whatever gets the job done
Primary Interest:
I've hunted a few resort beaches here on Okinawa. Security is the main issue.

OP
OP
H

harpda

Nov 24, 2012
Asia
Primary Interest:
I've hunted a few resort beaches here on Okinawa. Security is the main issue.

Thanks for the reply Bobbypins. I see; i've been searching around and see that you can go in but they usually have an entrance fee if you aren't a guest. That can range from 300 Y to 1000 Y.

Are there many people who MD around here? I've read that the locals don't. It seems like an ideal situation considering they have 500 Y coins and then there is little competition.

I'm stoked and my MD can't get here fast enough.

onthespot

Feb 6, 2012
Asia
Detector(s) used
Excal ll, Sov GT, CZ-21 & Sand Shark
Primary Interest:
Moon beach is ¥500 to park and ¥500 per person last I checked. I had to leave after I was approached!

OP
OP
H

harpda

Nov 24, 2012
Asia
Primary Interest: