My First Non-Junk Ring

alienbogey

Jun 21, 2007
Western Washington
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm a beach detecting newbie and still learning my Excalibur, so this is a benchmark for me.

I had a Honolulu layover and found a few hours to go out to one of the tourist beaches. I was astounded at how clean (meaning very few targets, not even trash) both the dry sand and water were. I didn't have a signal for the first 45 minutes in the water, and it got to the point that I was swinging my wedding ring hand over the coil to make sure things were still working.

(Is it normal to have so few targets?)

Anyway, some targets did show up, and I put 69 cents, a bobby pin, and a little sterling silver toe ring in the bag:

file_zps78a0b0c0.jpg

I was kind of proud that I detected the toe ring at all. It's not a complete loop, and you can see that the main face is lattice work, but I was moving along in waist-deep water and I realized that something had just whispered to me. I had the target in just a couple of scoops and at first I thought it was junk, but I saw no evidence of corrosion, noticed that it had a kind of dark grey patina, and when I got it home I could just make out with my 10X loupe "925" stamped on the inside.

So, this was only my second time detecting in the water and I got a precious-metals ring, even if it is very small.

My next goal: Gold

:skullflag:

Upvote 0

sandnut

Nov 17, 2010
Florida
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Bandido II uMax , Tesoro Silver uMax, Minelab Excalibur 1000
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Nice looking little ring there. Great job with the Excalibur! I can not answer about the lack of targets here there are plenty of trash targets everywhere on the beach and in the water trash everywhere!:BangHead:

CSMPEREZ

Sep 9, 2012
St. Pete, FL
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Excalibur 1000 and II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Great start, don't give up, it gets better.

Da Sand Crab

Bronze Member