Sunspot Stealth 720 Scoop?

rainyday101

Dec 1, 2012
Peshtigo, Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon, Tesoro Silver uMax, Tesoro Tiger Shark
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have a Tiger Shark and will be doing freshwater detecting in the great lakes, rivers, and local lakes. Is the Sunspot 720 stealth a good scoop? The 720 has a 20 degree angle the classic is a 90 degree handle. Is there an advantage to the 20 degree handle on the scoop? Is there a different scoop I should be looking at? Most of the areas I will be are sand, but some could get slightly gravely. I am a newbie at water detecting and any suggestions would be appreciated! I would like to only buy one scoop and get it right the first time.

Upvote 0

Sir Gala Clad

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Rainy Day:

Have you hunted in the water, and not just on the beach where it is mostly sand?
I have read, there is a lot of clay, gravel to rock and shell on the great lakes bottoms.

The sunspot stealth 720 is designed to dig deep with its 15" long basket and drain fast with its open basket design with 1/2" holes. The stainless steel v ish euro tip allows you to punch thru clayish bottoms with less effort and to dig close to rocks.

The advantage of the 20 degree angle handle is that you can dig without having to put your face in the water when chest deep. If you are tall, I highly recommend that you purchase the 52" handle as you can use the extra length to push yourself back to shore if you step in a hole or start getting to deep. You should also be wearing a safety device which forces you to float with face above water.

The advantage of the 90 degree angle handle is it's greater strength as the handle goes all the way to the bottom of the bucket. This is important for rocky bottoms such as in Okinawa, where the basket is reinforced locally for extra strength.