Sealing an Aluminum handle on a sand scoop?

SusanMN

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2007
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark, Xterra 705, Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would think you could spray paint it with the right kind of paint.

GuerillaBill

Feb 12, 2008
Venice, Florida
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Minelab Excalibur II, Whites BeachHunter 300
My question is can you clean, seal polish an aluminum handle to prevent a recurrence?

I went to Home Depot and bought a can of Plasti Dip Rubber coating used to coat metal tool handles. I also bought a self expanding eye bolt.
I then cut the end out of the rubber grip on the aluminum handle, and inserted the eye bolt, and expanded it so it was secure. Then I dipped the handle in the plasti coat and let it dry.
This resulted in a longer rubber grip on the handle, plus a way for me to clip the handle to a cord I clipped to my belt.

I've been using it this way for four years - about time for another dip in the plasti coat.

Bill sandscoophandle.jpg

SusanMN

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2007
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark, Xterra 705, Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you decide to replace the end handle part, bicycle handles fit perfectly and are much more padded and comfortable than the hard rubber or plastic handles scoops usually come with.

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I went to Home Depot and bought a can of Plasti Dip Rubber coating used to coat metal tool handles. I also bought a self expanding eye bolt.
I then cut the end out of the rubber grip on the aluminum handle, and inserted the eye bolt, and expanded it so it was secure. Then I dipped the handle in the plasti coat and let it dry.