Upvote 0

Buzzlitebeer

Dec 29, 2012
NE FL
Detector(s) used
F4/Excal 2/NOX 800
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Been taking the kids to the beach this holiday weekend, all the while scoping out where to detect when I'm free. (Killin me!) There are miles of beach and can't believe how many people there are. How do you know where to start? Or do you just jump in anywhere?

Great question and I am sure BS will chime in here. In JAX here I went today and looked N and S....went north and had a not so eventful day. Went N because we had a good erosion compared to the deposits we have been having. Now I wonder if I should have went S were I saw more depositors.

I am still learning to READ my beach. So with that I say learning my machine and learning to read the beach are my two concerns still!

bigscoop

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2010
Wherever there be treasure!
Detector(s) used
Older blue Excal with full mods, Equinox 800.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
An Interesting Transition on the East Coast

As summer arrives and progresses, “the beach grows”. In the winter the beach is narrower, but as summer arrives and progresses the beach grows wider, meaning that the low tide waterline moves further out. Just how great of an effect is this? Consider the following:

Over a period of several weeks there will be so much summer sand pushed onto the beach that the first trough will get completely filled in, a trough that is anywhere from 4 to 6 feet deep and up to 50 feet wide in spots at low tide. Once this trough is filled in the second trough then becomes the first trough. This should give you an idea of just how far out the low tide waterline moves during this summer transition. It’s pretty amazing when we stop to consider just how much sand it takes to accomplish this.