Waders For The Surf

NCGREG

Oct 6, 2013
Coastal Plains
Detector(s) used
EXCAL II BHID DFX MXT
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi, I have been detecting for a few years now, and I do most of my hunting in and on the salt water beaches. I really love hunting the surf in the Winter months, that's my favorite time of the year for beach metal detecting. I'm probably like the rest of you guys, in that, I hunt anywhere from up to the chair line all the way down to, and out in the water around waist deep or so, depending on the tide, weather conditions, and if the surf is calm or not.

I need a pair of chest waders, but unfortunately I don't have mega bucks to invest in them. I found a pair advertised online and was wondering if any of you have any experience with this particular brand and model. I do like the fact that they are "bootless" and that means a lot less weight for my lower back to have to haul around. I could just wear a pair of lightweight shoes with them, instead of the built-in rubber boot types.

Here's what I need them to be,

(1) Gotta be Comfortable
(2) Gotta be leak proof
(3) Gotta be warm
(4) Gotta be lightweight and not heavy

Please tell me what you think. And if anyone knows anything about these don't hesitate to chime in.. and thank you for any, and all help or advice.

Greg

Field & Stream Neoprene Chest Waders - Dick's Sporting Goods

Last edited:
Upvote 0
OP
OP
N

NCGREG

Oct 6, 2013
Coastal Plains
Detector(s) used
EXCAL II BHID DFX MXT
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Please tell me what you think. And if anyone knows anything about these don't hesitate to chime in.. and thank you for any, and all help or advice.

Such a helpful and friendly group! Sorry I wasted my time here ;-)

CSMPEREZ

Sep 9, 2012
St. Pete, FL
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Excalibur 1000 and II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You didn't mention water temperatures!! We use wet suits, boots are separate, 2.5mm to 5mm depending on temps! Ray

Terry Soloman