What do you use?

Hookka

Apr 10, 2013
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT PRO, Garrett AT GOLD, Minelab Equinox 800, Tesoro Sandshark, Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey I've been using the AT Pro for a couple months now and am hugely unsatisfied with it. I'm looking to sell it and buy a PI detector and use my ace250 for dry sand and get something more suited for wet sand and in the water. Anyone have any recommendations and why? I have almost no knowledge and no experience with PI machines and want to step my game up seeing as we have weekly clean sweeps on the beaches where I live.

Upvote 0

redcobra8u

Bronze Member
Jan 24, 2014
Los Angeles
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal II, Garrett AT Pro, CTX3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have an AT pro too. Use it for dry sand it is does well. Just bought and Excal and love it. It was a toss up between the sand shark or Excal...choose the Excal based upon the feedback for those on this forum. Either would be great machines. I have nothing but good things to say about the Excal. Good luck.

OP
OP
Hookka

Hookka

Apr 10, 2013
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT PRO, Garrett AT GOLD, Minelab Equinox 800, Tesoro Sandshark, Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I should have worded it better, I'm unimpressed with its water capabilities but that was my fault buying it I was hoping it would be better in the water. In the dry sand its great and its great for relics. I want to get something that is stable in the wet sand though.

gold fever pete

Jun 1, 2010
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting