Jan 19, 2014
Central Florida
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Deus II
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Discounting the water proof advantage of the Excalibur II, in your opinion and/or based on experience which is the better suited/designed machine for beach hunting...and finding... in both dry and wet sand?

I was told the FBS system of the Safari is superior to the Excal but being a relative novice, I don't know.

Upvote 0

Fletch88

Silver Member
Mar 7, 2013
Valdosta, GA
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATPro- 8.5x11, 5x8, CORS Fotune 5.5x9.5
Tesoro Silver microMax- 8 donut, 8x11 RSD, 3x18 Cleansweep
Minelab Excalibur ll- 10" Tornado
Minelab CTX 3030
Minelab Xterra 305
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The FBS is a little deeper than BBS technology of the Excal in my findings and theoretically you could cherry pick more, skipping the Zincolns and clad, but I usually dig anything that's not iron or foil anyway. (Those drink lid seals can sound pretty good! ). I use the CTX , a modified Excal or a Sovereign GT. It all depends on surf conditions, and what mood I'm in I guess. Up in northeast FLA Beaches it's rare that I can actually water hunt and most of the time I'm reaching for the Sovereign GT with a 13" coil. I've never had the self control to try to cherry pick just gold, but some people do if the competition is stiff.

For wet/dry sand the Safari is an excellent machine and should be all you need unless the surf permits you to water hunt. You may try a 13" Ultimate or 15" WOT if you want major depth and coverage, but a harness will be almost a must for the WOT. They at very well built but also very heavy.

Last edited:

DnD

Aug 24, 2012
First Coast, FL
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
CTX, Nox800, Excal, Explorer, CZ, AT, Sea Hunter, DP Pulse & Diver, Surf PI, BHID, and BH
Primary Interest: