Any good areas in South Bay, Long Beach or OC?

yorkiemiki

Jun 9, 2014
Los Angeles
Detector(s) used
"Winbest" by Barska "Pro Edition Metal Detector"
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Upvote 0

redcobra8u

Bronze Member
Jan 24, 2014
Los Angeles
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal II, Garrett AT Pro, CTX3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Where there are people, there is treasure. Pretty much every beach from Newport to a Ventura are great places to hunt. Low and slow and dig everything.

OP
OP
Y

yorkiemiki

Jun 9, 2014
Los Angeles
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
True that. I'd guess that some people might know some spots that are better than others. I'm just a newbie recreational detector....Any other recommendations greatly appreciated!

TommyB

Jul 24, 2013
OC, Calif
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites Surf PI & Whites DFX
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Areas where Tourist go ( around hotels, etc) are always a good bet. Do some cruising along the coast for places you might be considering and look for the crowds and check where the towel line is. Go back late in the evening or early in the morning. Go slow and low. Listen for 'ghost' signals. Could be a deep surprise. Good luck

ScooperDave

Jan 29, 2014
Orange County, California
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sovereign GT w/10"x 12" SEF Butterfly Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Definitely hit the beaches close to where you live first, learn those beaches and your detector inside and out. Towel lines, around life guard towers, volley ball courts are good areas to check in the dry sand. Check out beach surf cams so you can get a good idea of where all the people are congregating at the beach, then hit those spots up early morning or late evening. What kind of detector are you swinging? I've never hunted Long Beach but I'm sure there's some good finds there.

OP
OP
Y

yorkiemiki

Jun 9, 2014
Los Angeles
Detector(s) used