Coin beach DE questions

Dbat

Jul 30, 2014
New York
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm heading back to Coin Beach for a short family vacation again and at least now I have a sand sifter and a hand held pin-pointer. Don't have a beach metal detector yet though. It looked like there were a lot of shells and rocks in the shelf, just a little way into the surf. Is that a good place to look there or is it better in the dry sand?

Someone on this site told me they recently dredged the inlet and deposited the sand on the beach. Did they use anything to screen the sand? I'm new to this and just looking to have some fun. Maybe bring home some sandstone type rocks to explore. Any advice about that beach or beach hunting in general is greatly appreciated.

Here's a picture of some of the things I found my first trip there. Hope to someday find a coin.... Who knows! :dontknow:

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    84.4 KB · Views: 114
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    538.9 KB · Views: 118
Upvote 0

OBN

Gold Member
Dec 30, 2008
Maryland Waters
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
"Excalibur"..
"AQ" Impulse
Primary Interest:
Other
Yes they filtered all, nothing bigger then a quarter will go thru...I have a picture around some where...

louie41

Aug 23, 2013
Maryland Eastern Shore
Detector(s) used
White's 4900/D Pro Plus, Ace 350, whites BHID, TRX PP and Whites digger
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I remember going there last late summer/fall and seeing that huge operation. what a mess. I didn't know they screened it as it came back on shore. oh well.

deldave

Jul 9, 2013
coastal Delaware
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT PRO, ACE 250, pro-pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting