Central Florida
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Deus II
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Deus on Saltwater Beach; What's Your Experience

I'd very much appreciate hearing from a Deus user about their experience on a saltwater beach...especially in the wet sand area--sensitivity, depth, settings and overall performance.

I'm relatively new to the Deus and still testing it in differing environments. This past week, I tested it on very wet sand at Daytona Beach.

The Wet Beach program is surprisingly stable and sensitive. I buried a coin about 10" deep in VERY wet sand right at the tide line. The Deus sounded off.. No question about hitting a target. The only falsing was when I hit or touched the coil on the sand. I couldn't sweep the coil directly on the sand as I can with my Excal II.

A more experienced Deus user advised me to notch out the range causing the falsing and it should be OK. Haven't tried that yet but will next time.

Not being a multi-frequency machine like the Excalibur, I'm very pleasantly surprised at how stable the Deus was on our Florida beaches......it performed very well in my opinion except for when I hit the coil on the sand that is. Now our beaches are currently very sanded in and the number of "depositors" is down significantly but I did find a few clad and some very small paper thin shards of metal at depths of 8-10".

My test validated this video and I'd sure like to hear from others:

Upvote 0

frogmaster-riviera

Bronze Member
Oct 22, 2014
Greece, French Riviera, Switzerland, North Italy
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030, Excalibur IIS, Sea Hunter MK II, Ebinger Seacon, Quest Pro, XP Deus, Deteknix Quest Pro, Makro Pointer, Xpointer diver & Wader
Primary Interest:
Other