GoPro - light and filter advice for underwater video detection

frogmaster-riviera

Bronze Member
Oct 22, 2014
Greece, French Riviera, Switzerland, North Italy
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030, Excalibur IIS, Sea Hunter MK II, Ebinger Seacon, Quest Pro, XP Deus, Deteknix Quest Pro, Makro Pointer, Xpointer diver & Wader
Primary Interest:
Other
Hi all!

I want to shoot some videos when I'm scuba detecting. I just bought a Gopro 4 and a pair of Light & Motion Sola 3000 lights. I will put the Gopro on a Helmet and the lights will use loc-line arms, placed on each side of the helmt.

Do I need to use a red filter on the Gopro when I'm using the lights?

Hope someone can help me as I am a total newbie in underwater video and photography....
VertexVentBlack.2354011041.jpg

srp-tray-and-light-bundle-with-hero3.jpg

Attachments

• VertexVentBlack.2354011041.jpg
    VertexVentBlack.2354011041.jpg
    54.2 KB · Views: 113
Last edited:
Upvote 0

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You bought a pair of sola 3000's ?! Holy crap that's a lot of light! Thats professional video level of light. You will need a color correction filter if you are shooting anything more than a few feet away, I recommend a flip filter so you can use it as needed.

Edit to add- be sure to use the lights in the flood mode, not spot.

OP
OP
frogmaster-riviera

frogmaster-riviera

Bronze Member
Oct 22, 2014
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030, Excalibur IIS, Sea Hunter MK II, Ebinger Seacon, Quest Pro, XP Deus, Deteknix Quest Pro, Makro Pointer, Xpointer diver & Wader
Primary Interest:
Other
The lights are only flood mode 90° wide angle. I just can change the power of the led 3000 / 1500 /750 lumens I think. I bought a Red filter from SRP which can be easily flipped from the GoPro. I'll make some test with the filter and without, but it is better to have the good advice before diving :notworthy: