Your top three choices, under a grand, for my conditions please

NWMP

Nov 20, 2009
Riding a unicorn in the Saskatchewan mountains
Detector(s) used
Tejon, AT Pro, Simplex, Legend, and I still go home with a hand full of clad and junk some days.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi. I have limited experience, but some success, water detecting. I am currently using my AT Pro, and I have had it for several years. I like this machine and this is not a slap on the ATP. But I am coming to believe that either A: I am not setting the ATP up correctly for my lake conditions, or B. My local conditions require a different machine, like say P.I. ? I can go to a few fresh water lakes with deep sand and the ATP runs like a champ. Smooth, no falsing, a real pleasure to water detect with. Then I can go to some lakes an hour or two away with heavy mineralization/black sand or black muck and primarily rocky bottoms. In these lakes the ATP seems helpless. Ground balancing under water brings a staccato machine gun noise, and constant falsing even when dropping the G.B. and sensitivity. So, in some lakes it purrs like a kitten, and others it sounds like the mother ship from close encounters of the third kind. All connections snug, good batteries, no overhead EMI etc. I really don"t know at this point........ Your opinion please. And to avoid a brand loyalty scuffle, what three machines, under or around a grand, would you recommend for fresh and salt water mineralized lakes ? Thanks.

Upvote 0

CASPER-2

Gold Member
Jan 3, 2012
NEW ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
WHITE'S XLT, PI PRO, GARRETT 2500, 3- FISHER CZ21s, JW FISHER 8X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I WOULD RECOMMEND = see if there are other TH"ers in your area - try and hook up and see if they will let you try there machine
I could recommend 3 - so could others and you buy one and end up with same results cause come to find out they have a power line running under water