Bavaria Mike

Gold Member
Feb 7, 2005
Bavaria Germany
Detector(s) used
Minelab XT70, Fisher 1280, Garrett Ace 250 and MH5
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello water detectors. Looking for some advice about shallow water detecting swim lakes, chest deep. About to order a Fisher 1280 Aquanaut for the following reasons, Price, Fisher good name, (just sold my CZ7A to get a water detector, wife thing, why do I need 5 detectors, I really need 10), long life battery usage, ease of use and setup. I have waders and just bought two wet suits, short and long. The questions I have are:

1) What kind of shoes do you wear with the wet suit or just plain water detecting without a suit?

2) The non detachable headphone cord will wear out, I am an Electronics Tech and should be able to replace it easily, or not due to seals?

3) I don't want to start a detector war but, I am open to advice on water detectors around the $600ish price range and want to place an order by the end of the week. I will not use this machine much, just a time passer until the fields open up as I prefer relic hunting and do not have many lakes to go to.

4) I made a scoop out of PVC pipe and a wood handle that works OK, I have water detected several times with my land machines about waist deep but need to get deeper for the good stuff. Should I splurge and buy the nice aluminum water scoop?

Thanks and HH, Mike

Upvote 0

Dixie Digger

Sep 11, 2006
Ga
Detector(s) used
Sovereign GT W/S12 Coil & Excal 1000 & Fisher CZ21 Cz20,Tesoro Tiger Shark Excal ll
i also use the 1280X and CZ20.Tesoro Tiger Shark . in the $600 price range id go with the Tesoro Tiger Shark.it has a salt mode and is better on small Gold than the others. iv owned many scoops but i like the aluminum best..pic below.

Attachments

• RTG BB6.jpg
    RTG BB6.jpg
    28.5 KB · Views: 544

spez401

Jul 13, 2006
Coventry, RI
Detector(s) used
Excal