Need advice for shallow water recovery

C

CortezDiver

Hi, i want to try to look for some coins, etc.. from a wreck which is in shallow waters,in Mexico, from 10 to maybe 30 ft. deep.( As soon as i get all the info i need as far as permission to dive the site,etc.).Most of the time there are breaking waves and strong currents but is sometimes diveable near the shore. The wreck is said to be buried in 8- 15 ft. of sand , but i'm hoping there is enough scattered around to find something. I have a dredge and access to a boat for a propwash if that is an option. I am totally new to treasure hunting underwater but am an experienced diver. I need some advice and ideas on how to aproach this wreck in hopes of recovering something. It's just an idea right now that i'm trying to put together and you all seem to be the ones i can ask that wont think i'm crazy, lol, thx for any info you can give, Kevin

Upvote 0
O

ochoescudo

Re: Need advice for shallow water recovery>>well...

Well Kevin...you are crazy.....we all are!

Once you get the treasure bug forget about it.

Ok...serious now.....are you working one of the Gold Rush steamers or that Manilla Galleon that supposedly has all the China on it? Are you on the Pacific or Gulf side...or the Sea of Cortez?
You don't have to answer that.....but please do!

Spend some time diving the areas inshore from it first. Do you know where it is or are you just guessing? If you work inshore you can use a metal detector to find objects which have been thrown into shallow water by storms. If there are rocky areas go over those first. Brass and bronze objects like spikes and nails are a good sign. Coins are even better?

Now, let's say you think you're dialed in on the wreck, don't even consider going at it with a dredge or blower until you know you won't be detected. Working wrecks in foreign lands is a sure way to get locked up. I have friends who have first hand experience with that!