One word can make a difference

fongu

Bronze Member
Mar 30, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was doing some research at the library and reading old newspapers from 1894 and found one word that made a difference in my research that was significant. This particular spot was a major attraction in the early 1900's with fiddling contests, sings, 4th of July celebrations and other activities. I've been researching this spot for 2-3 years as I had time, even tho I hadn't written the owners of this site due to time constraints and other reasons. It used to be a large area where as many as 12-15,000 people would gather and people rode trains from nearly 100 miles away to attend these gatherings.
Now, this large area is owned by over 150 small land holders and the largest section is about 33 acres and I just haven't tried to get permission, but continued my research just in case things worked out for my getting permission for some of these areas. Found quite a few large ads in the papers about this area and the one word that was not covered in the history of this area was the word mineral. It was named after the owner in the local history book I read, but the papers had the owner's name and the word mineral springs. In the early 1900's, if a place had mineral springs in it's name, it was considered a place for healing as well as recreation and I'm sure it made a difference in the crowd they had. Just thought I would mention this. I love reading the old newspapers from the late 1800's and early 1900's and some of their ads blow me away.
Author:

Upvote 0

Tpmetal

Silver Member
Jan 4, 2017
Western ny
Detector(s) used
equinox 800, Whites mx sport, Garrot carrot, bounty hunter time ranger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting