Garrett AT Pro
Minelab Excalibur 1000 with SEF 10x12 coil
3 Minelab Excalibur II 10 inch
Deus II
EQuinox 900
Manticore
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
I have been detecting now for 5 years. I am sorry that I didn't get into this in my 20's. Having said that, i am curious to know what the average time out detecting is? The reason I ask is because when I go detecting I usually leave at 345 am and arrive at the beach around 6 am. I usually do this 3 times a week and detect anywhere from 6 am to 5 pm and walk detecting water and sand between 7 to 10 miles. My scoop weighs 5 lbs the stealth extreme empty and I dig anywhere from 300 to 800 targets each outing. If you do the math 300 empty is 1500lbs add rock and sand you could be moving as much as several tons of sand and rock. I would say that all of the beach hunters get a great workout each time they hit the sand. What are your thoughts?

Upvote 0

toddbbq

Apr 13, 2014
Lutz FL
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Tarsacci MDT-8000, Equinox 800 2x, T-Rex scoop, AT Pro and Excalibur 1000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
5 to 7 hours dry sand, wet sand and water. I wish I was digging as many targets as you.

A#1

Feb 18, 2018
Traverse City, Michigan
Primary Interest:
Other
Dang

I couldnt play that long. I'd get bored.

My style is a bit different than most, but It's because I'm always moving. I have hundreds of spots with potential along 60-80 mile routes to my dad's house, or my cabin.

I dig five targets, or detect an hour. Then I move along down the road.

I also enjoy the road trip, and finding the sites, as much as the detecting.

sphillips

Bronze Member
Jan 4, 2008
Western NC
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am 67 and detect 2-4 hours, by then my legs are toast, especially if I spend a lot of time in the soft dry sand, wet sand not as bad.

Tommybuckets

Bronze Member
Mar 2, 2015
Bodymore, Metalland
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used