Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree39Likes

Thread: Someone tossed a bunch of pennies in the shallows...

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »

Mar 2005
    17 times

Someone tossed a bunch of pennies in the shallows...

Went to my local beach, wasn't finding much more than pull tabs and a bottle cap. Then i hit a target, pulled up one penny after another, 43 pennies, all in about a 5' radius. I was thinking that either someone thought it would be a cruel joke or maybe another detector swinger thought it would be a fun test but either way i enjoyed locating the coins and hearing the different tones for multiple coins, deeper coins and such.

I am new to my Excalibur II, I started narrowing in closer and closer with my new sand scoop too. It was a good lesson. No other coins in the area, just the 43 pennies, lol. I did find 2 shell casing heads from a pistol, I believe, those were in the dry sand. A split shot sinker, along with the pull tabs and bottle cap.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190105_164127.jpg 
Views:	107 
Size:	3.32 MB 
ID:	1667865
    Was - Fisher 1280-X Aquanaut - w/10.5" Coil
    Now - Minelab Excalibur II - w/10" Coil

Charter Member
    us
    Nov 2012
    Maryland
    XP Deus, Tesoro Cibola
    15914 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting
    Banner Finds (6)
    Who knows...sometimes people lose a handful of change. This one field a friend and I detect, well, someone saw us there one day digging. A couple weeks later we go back and see cigarette butts and dig holes we didn't do and whoever it was left about 15 cents in Zincolns as presents for us scattered about.

us
    ARC

Aug 2014
    De Tampe Bahia - La Florida
    JW 8X - ML X2
    31697 times
    Well rest assured... whatever setting you have it set to... it is definitely hitting on pennies.

Oddjob, RustyGold and Blak bart like this.