Someone tossed a bunch of pennies in the shallows...

Terry In Florida

Mar 3, 2005
Port Richey, Florida
Detector(s) used
Fisher 1280x Aquanaut
Minelab Excalibur II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Went to my local beach, wasn't finding much more than pull tabs and a bottle cap. Then i hit a target, pulled up one penny after another, 43 pennies, all in about a 5' radius. I was thinking that either someone thought it would be a cruel joke or maybe another detector swinger thought it would be a fun test but either way i enjoyed locating the coins and hearing the different tones for multiple coins, deeper coins and such.

I am new to my Excalibur II, I started narrowing in closer and closer with my new sand scoop too. It was a good lesson. No other coins in the area, just the 43 pennies, lol. I did find 2 shell casing heads from a pistol, I believe, those were in the dry sand. A split shot sinker, along with the pull tabs and bottle cap.

20190105_164127.jpg

Upvote 0

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Who knows...sometimes people lose a handful of change. This one field a friend and I detect, well, someone saw us there one day digging. A couple weeks later we go back and see cigarette butts and dig holes we didn't do and whoever it was left about 15 cents in Zincolns as presents for us scattered about.

ARC

Gold Member
Aug 19, 2014
Tarpon Springs
Detector(s) used
JW 8X-ML X2-VP 585
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well rest assured... whatever setting you have it set to... it is definitely hitting on pennies.

:)

frazdad

Mar 5, 2018
Brooklyn, NY
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
A lot of people just don't like pennies. I know a homeless man who throws them away. He even offered them to me. I didn't think it would be right to take them

kingskid1611

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2015
Oklahoma
Primary Interest: