Two beach questions

jasonw77

Dec 9, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I live in the pacific northwest and I'm very new to detecting, we have some nice beaches that get pretty hard when the weather turns good. What type of scoop would be good, most beaches aren't all sand a lot are very rocky (small rocks)? Looking for.something that could do well in sand and rocks.

Second I own a equinox 800 for the type of wet rocky and sand ground would it be best for the to run in Beach 1 or 2

Upvote 0

Swamp Fox

Sep 22, 2019
South Carolina
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sovereign GT Minelab Equinox 600 Garrett A T Pro Garrett A T Max
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The beaches here are really mineralized and I run beach 2.

Digger_O'Dell

May 11, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I hunt areas of the great lakes which have lots of rocky beaches. For that I use my mini spade. Like a normal spade, but smaller and easy to tote with the D handle.
Just make sure to get a good quality one, it's worth the extra bit of money. Otherwise you end up breaking the handle or even the blade. I've done both and learned the hard way.

Irishgoldhound

Bronze Member
Jul 15, 2013
🥇 Banner finds
I would recommend a stainless scoop like a stealth scoop or an extreme scoop from “Extreme Scoops”or a scoop from RTG aka Reilly’s Treasure Gold.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting