Beale Cryptanalysis

Pistolshrimp

Tenderfoot
May 9, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all. Not sure if this is the right place for this. It's kind of a long post so I apologize in advance. Most of the length comes from the Methods section trying to explain what I am doing, if you wish you can skip that and still get the jist of the post. I tried to put it into a Spoiler tag but I don't see that option here so I put it in a quote so it can be skipped easily if so desired.

I am a GIS and Programming student who often finds myself drawn to mysteries and trying unique ways of solving them. While interesting I use them as ways to build skills, force me to think outside of the box, and ultimately to build my resume.

I am not a historian or a treasure seeker. I am not necessarily trying to crack the ciphers. That is probably outside my ability, and judging from the posts here, someone seems to "crack" them every couple of months. No shade of course, just that it is probably not worth the effort for me to go too far down that rabbit hole. I am posting on this site because it seems like you all are really knowledgeable and, perhaps for internet forums, uncharacteristically supportive. i have some conclusions at the bottom I would like to run by you all and see if you disagree or if there is something out there proving me wrong.

METHODS/EXAMPLES

What I have been doing is some cryptanalysis on the codes themselves. I built a program which inserts sentences into each of the ciphers and counts every time it fits and subsequent Trigrams it then creates. The sentences are made from an external file so I can essentially put in any text and it creates every sentence possible of lengths 1 - 10 for words adjacent to each other.