Finding bottle dumps?? Help

ugotit22

Bronze Member
Dec 26, 2007
The Dirty Shire
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX, and Whites IDX Pro
hey guys
ive been detecting for 2 yrs. Last yr i came accross my first and only bottle dump. The town was digging behind town hall and uncovered it and let me dig it. I got like 2 boxes full of bottles and had a great time. Only problem is i dont know how to find another one. I detect alot of old houses and sites. Any ideas on bottle dumps. How to find them? where would they be located on the site? do all old sites have them? are they deep?
sorry for all the questions but im hust gettin into this. Any info would be great. thank
Keith

Produce Guy

Bronze Member
Dec 17, 2008
austin,texas
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace250,garrett pro-pointer,AT/Pro,
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Try and find old maps of your town from like the early 1900's to say 1950's or drive out on old country roads to see where old towns might have been.Ask around maybe at VFW posts and talk to the old vets about these places,if your town has a history center try them or go to your capital of your state and look for old maps.

Da Sand Crab

Bronze Member
Sep 16, 2009
Far, Far Away
Try to ask the old timers who are still alive where they dumped their rubbish. City areas usually had large city dumps whereas rural homesteads had their own trash pits somewhere on their properties. Gulches were often used if they were nearby house sites because the occupants did'nt have to dig pits. Good luck.

pganjon

Nov 6, 2008
South Central Pa.
Detector(s) used
Garrett Master Hunter 5, Ace 250