deershed

Silver Member
Apr 25, 2013
Maryland
Detector(s) used
AT Pro, Whites Coin Master Pro, Bounty Hunter Lonestar, Minelab CTX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
While checking out a new area for some bottle digging I found this bottle laying on the surface.

I'm still new at trying to figure these glass bottles out never mind stoneware.Can anyone help me identify this bottle or tell me what time period it might be from?

This was on the edge of the bottom of the bottle.

OP
OP
deershed

deershed

Silver Member
Apr 25, 2013
Maryland
Detector(s) used
AT Pro, Whites Coin Master Pro, Bounty Hunter Lonestar, Minelab CTX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That's Awesome!!Thanks!!

We were thinking early 1900's like the last old foundation we were digging.It's so nice to have some very knowledgable people on here to confirm what your thinking.
We were afraid it would turn out to be some more modern bottle that was dropped in that area.

Thanks again!!

surf

Silver Member
Jan 10, 2013
Detector(s) used
seeing eye shovel
Primary Interest:
Other
Hey deershed,

Jim's got it right. There's a great many of these out there. They're still great to find.

"Thomas Rathbone & Company got into financial difficulties in the first half of the 19th century and the pottery closed in 1850. The premises, on the east of Pipe Street and the harbour, were taken over by Dr W A Gray in 1856 who with his sons began a very successful enterprise manufacturing white and brown stoneware. Unfortunately, it did not survive the Depression of the 1930s." http://www.portobelloheritagetrust.co.uk/gallery.pdf

"Their near neighbours, W. A. Gray & Sons of the Midlothian Pottery, produced almost identical utilitarian stoneware, if not quite so extensive in its range. They were famed for their patented white marmalade jars." Pottery Manufacture

1809078_893a3b28.jpg
Portobello pottery kilns, Pipe Street::

Oradden

May 31, 2013
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Eurotek Pro
Primary Interest:
Other