Second to last dig of the decade!

bottles123

Nov 9, 2019
N.Y.
Primary Interest:
Other
This was the worst dig I've had in terms of criers. Tons of pieces of great bottles, some of which I brought back to show you fine folks.

20191222_194850.jpg

The two bottles on the left I've never seen and can't find anything on online. The P. L. Conlon is in 3 pieces, and is missing a piece of the shoulder in the back. The J. N. Burr I found two examples of that I was hoping to Frankenstein together. I have no experience with repairing, so if anyone has any advice on how to chip and attach the two pieces please message me. The Feigenspan and Co is a fairly common bottle, but still would've been nice to have whole. The bottle on the far right I was hoping someone here could tell me about. It's three piece mold with that grows in circumference from base to shoulder, and I've never seen anything like it before.

20191222_193510.jpg

This one really hurt. Top half of a Willibald Kuebler bottle. Looks like an 1880s bottle to me, but could be late 1870s? The company originally manufactured squats, so this is probably from whatever time the majority of industry began to switch to taller bottles. If I find a whole example, it would easily be my oldest and possibly my best find. There's still plenty dump left to dig, so hopefully this is a promise of things to come. On to more successful finds.

20191222_204207.jpg

Two Henschel Blobs. S. Henschel seems to of been pretty successful locally. I have another bottle with his name from Port Jefferson. It's interesting to me that the one on the right says Kings Park Hotel. Maybe it was made for a beverage only available at that establishment? I think he had a son or relative continue his business, as I found a ABM crown slug plate marked with "S." Henschel once in the forest.

20191222_193851.jpg