Should I upgrade my BH 505 ?

Rustynailsandscrews

Sep 26, 2014
Salem, NY
Detector(s) used
AT PRO and a BH 505 that I let friends and relatives I don't like use.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm hoping to get some thoughts and opinions.
I have an old BH 505 with 4, 8 and 10" coils. I can hear all of you hissing and laughing ! :laughing7:
I know the machine really well and there are no fancy programs to learn or know.
I have always had good luck with it and will hit quarters at 7 to 8 inches in my local soil.
I'm a hobbyist type and largely a coin hunter and if I find some jewelry that's always good to !
I have been thinking at getting an AT Pro for about a year now but as temping as the thought is I would have to re learn another machine that might confuse the !!!! out of me and it would be like throwing my old BH 505, friend away to sit in a closet.
I'm an old muffler on a stick type of guy and there is no ego's or need to keep up with Jones's here.
I would really hate to spend $550.00 on the AT Pro and have it end up setting in a closet because it's more then what I need.
I'm not around any salt water so I really don't need the AT Pro for that.
I have read a lot about DD coils and how much better they can be.
Should I just upgrade my BH 505 to a 11' DD coil for $130.00 ? The Fisher 11" DD ,F2/F4 will fit my BH 505.
Would the AT Pro at $550.00 really do that much more for me as far as depth ?
Is the discrimination really any better on an AT Pro ?
We all end up digging junk anyway because the machine is fooled by a shape or just a size of an object.
I know the AT Pro has a loyal following that can be found on any detecting site, with a new thread posted, " FOUND WITH AT AN PRO !!!! " It's funny in a way because only the AT Pro owners do that !
So give me your thoughts please especially from older folks who have owned more of an older basic detector like the BH 505 and then a AT Pro.
Remember that lights, whistles and sirens don't really mean much to me.