Hot Rockin

Greenie
Aug 21, 2016
Cincinnati Ohio
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Keep in mind I am brand new to metal detecting. And know I have a lot to learn.

I received my Land Ranger Pro about a week ago and have been playing around with it.
Right at the moment Im feeling a little disappointed.
On my first trip out a friend went out with me using his Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 ( I think) He just uses his to find sprinkler heads at his job.
Right away when he started using his he was getting tones/ beeps like I would have expected. In fact I picked up right away if he hit something by the tone.
On my LRP the display was all over the place.
I ran in all metal mode for a short time then coin mode. In coin mode I would get a hit in one spot but in one sweep it could say Penny, next sweep , dime. next sweep $1 next sweep nickle etc.....

Guess Im just asking for some pointers for getting started. Settings etc......

TheHunterGT

Bronze Member
Feb 2, 2015
Central California
Detector(s) used
Anfibio Multi - T2 Classic - F75+ - G2+....and MANY more tested and reviewed.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well first off go over the basic stuff. Make sure battery is good and make sure coil cable is connected well. Lower the sensitivity if too chattery from EMI or the ground is too hot. Try sens 70-80 and see if that helps.

When turning it on...make sure the coil is in the air a foot or so. Set it to AM mode and ground balance it. Then switch back over to the Disc mode you prefer and go from there. If bad ground...do a quick grab ground balance every once in a while (only possible in disc 1-4).

Best thing to do is to dig a small 3-4 inch hole and bury a coin. Run over it until you get used to the signal. Try it in different modes and see what tone you like the best. Adjust the vbreak and Disc mode from there.