dossier

Aug 23, 2011
PA
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2, Hands
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Another 'what should I get thread' -- newbie $150-200 range

I'm very open to finding a used one if the quality is still worth it at a used price (already browsing craigslist).

I've been perusing the metal detector forum all day after deciding I want one. I used to do CRH a couple summers ago but now I wanna try something new.

Like the title says I'd be happy spending like 200$ total for the detector and the other lil bits I'll need. I'm a super amateur in this respect but know I should look into tools and gear as well... Honestly I could use some advice on what other gear I'll need. I've seen some videos where the hunter will have an easy to access mini shovel attached to his belt that sat inside of a sifter or something. I've also seen lots of people talking about pinpointers and probes which I've never considered.

As a starter kit I don't suspect I'll need much more than a digging tool, some rudimentary sifter, a pouch to store my finds, a metal detector and headphones. Would def like more suggestions in this respect, willing to go a lil over 200 if it'll really help.

I plan to start slow and get into the swing of things before I invest in more than the absolutely necessary tools.

What detector should I start out with? I'm primarily interested in coins of all types if that matters for a type of detector. I'm already trying to ponder the best local places to scope out :thumbsup:

OP
OP
dossier

dossier

Aug 23, 2011
PA
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2, Hands
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting