How Does GPS on Detectors Work?

Lexicon7

Jan 1, 2016
Bend Oregon
Detector(s) used
Just getting started and enjoying it! I am a retired land surveyor and used the Schonstedt GA-52Cx Magnetic Locator to locate property corners! It was a blast & I never forgot that!
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting

RobRieman

Silver Member
Nov 12, 2012
Cincinnati Ohio
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's V3i / Minelab E-trac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Your correct. It will show you where you been and you can set markers (waypoint) for a particular spot. It will get you to within 5-10 feet on accuracy typically. The only one I know of is the $2500 CTX 3030.
I think the Go-Find has a similar dumbed down version also.

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Your correct. It will show you where you been and you can set markers (waypoint) for a particular spot. It will get you to within 5-10 feet on accuracy typically. The only one I know of is the $2500 CTX 3030.
I think the Go-Find has a similar dumbed down version also.

Yep, what Rob said.

mtsheron

Jun 6, 2014
NC
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex+; and Lesche digging tools! Tesoro Compadre (daughter's machine)
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Just like any GPS.....allows you to set points where you have been and if real secluded a way to get back! I just think some detectors are and with these options become way too busy and take away from the fun of sweeping and digging. To each their own and the variety of life for sure.

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I just think some detectors are and with these options become way too busy and take away from the fun of sweeping and digging. To each their own and the variety of life for sure.