New Old Beginner Advice

Gejodi

Dec 27, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Old beginner here looking for some equipment advice. I have read a lot of info on this site and seen many videos. I am new to metal detecting and have been interested in jumping in for the past year. I know this is a loaded question so i will apologize right off. I live in New Jersey close to the shore and intend to use at beach areas, parks and who knows. I have about an 800.00 dollar budget and was looking at the Nokta multi anfibio or the Makro multi Kruze and the equinox 800. I dont want to start a war but I would be interested in finding coins, relics and really doing just for the hobby itself....can anyone help me in making the final decision? Since I have the resources i thought id stay away from the lower end models but worry about the ease of use of these mentioned models.

Thanks for any advice

Tahts-a-dats-ago

Apr 30, 2014
NJ
Detector(s) used
Legend,
Anfibio multi,
Apex,
ORX,
Deus,
Vanquish 440
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I also live in NJ, near the shore, so I thought I’d mention my thoughts on the MMK.

I haven’t used/owned either the Anfibo or the Nox 600/800 so my input on those models would be limited to parroting what I’ve read or seen on videos; therefore I’ll let people with experience tell you about those machines.

I do own the MMK.

I find it to be light in weight, easy to swing, and very well made. Mine came with wireless headphones that work very well. The included headphones are not waterproof though, so if going under the water is planned you would need to purchase the waterproof headphones. The Multi Kruzer is waterproof to 16 feet and features a vibrate mode for those times you’re in the water or otherwise can’t hear the speakers/headphones.