My first post about a new detector by a guy in a new hobby. Vanquish 540 question.

Jamie Rullestad

Dec 3, 2020
Iowa
Detector(s) used
Minelab Vanquish 540, Nokta Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey all.

I’m brand new to all of this, so I’m going to claim “honeymoon” status for the first few posts.

On the suggestion from a detector it’s on another unrelated forum, I recently purchased a Vanquish 540.

I took it out today and scored on just a little bit of valueless crap, but it’s my crap after all, and I’m darned proud of it! I did notice a thing or two as I swung this thing back and forth, and I need a little schooling.

As I search around on my rural acreage, my friend did explain that farmsteads can overwhelm a machine sometimes with all of the trash. But sometimes, it’s as if it just stops or goes on pause. The numbers don’t change, the noises stop. It’s as if it’s temporarily stuck.

Do I keep slowly making passes as I walk, or do I stop and wait for it to “clear”? Or do I turn it off to reset?

Silly, beginner questions, I’m sure. I won’t need much patience or time from you all, I promise. I’m a pretty quick study, and I’ll keep reading on this forum to learn.

Irishgoldhound

Bronze Member
Jul 15, 2013
🥇 Banner finds
Welcome to TNet. Just keep swinging. That pause you say and no noises is because there is nothing to be detected under the coil. Some farm fields may have more trash and some fields you may not get any signals for many feet at a time. You’re doing it right just keep swinging. Make sure you’re overlapping your swings and swinging the coil flat to the ground and not swinging the coil with an arc like a pendulum. Good luck!

OP
OP
J

Jamie Rullestad

Dec 3, 2020
Iowa
Detector(s) used
Minelab Vanquish 540, Nokta Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you, sir!