Emptied out cache? or something below?

riverbandit

Tenderfoot
Mar 29, 2010
pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
fisher aquanaut,mine lab sovereign XS.Tesoro silver sabre.Tesoro cibola,bounty hunter big bud series,Nokta MAKRO SIMPLEX
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
This is my first posting on here.Ive been detecting for 35 years.Last week while detecting around an old farm site I found a milkcan 2 foot in the ground .It sounded hollow when I hit the top of it with my shovel.I pried the lid off and the dirt began to fall inside. I could reach down inside but nothing seemed to be inside.Was this possibly someones buried bank and cleaned it out? My shovel broke when i was attempting to pry the lid off.I will update this post after I dig the can completely out. I found a 1944 half dollar,1943 merc dime,1947 dime and a 1819 large cent along with about 85 cents in mixed wheaties and indian head cents over the yard area.I will post pics on next posting.

truckinbutch

Silver Member
Feb 15, 2008
Morgantown,WV
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Landstar
Sounds like you found one hidiehole for sure . This and the other finds make it sound interesting enough to keep working it hard .
Jim

THingfool

Feb 7, 2009
NE Indiana
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark,1280-x,Cortes, White's 6DB
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Welcome to T-net. Too bad the milk can was empty. But you found silver so that's always good. HH.

Ed

krazyace

Jan 9, 2009
Michigan
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
From reading some other posts on this site I found out that people used to put something empty like that first to deter people from looking further, then they would bury the good stuff underneath it so I would definitely dig it up and see what is beneath it.

idigdirt

Mar 15, 2006
Epworth, Ohio
Detector(s) used
Compass xp-pro
Primary Interest:
Other
A good percentage of the stashers never put "all their eggs" in one basket. Keep looking....