What experiences do you have hunting LA parks?

Gimmie The Loot

Bronze Member
May 11, 2010
Driftwood, TX
Detector(s) used
etrac, ACE 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey there - as you might know I am new to California and itching to get back out with my etrac. I've researched a few older parks in LA but not too sure on the areas yet and if they are safe. I am used to hunting in some shady areas of Chicago and usually very early Saturdays worked out good if we finished up and left by noon.

Does anyone have experience in LA? Anyone want to meet up for a hunt? I also know the more the marrier for hunting the shady parks.

I guess other questions I have is what are the ground conditions around LA? Is digging easy? How deep do coins sink here? Any special type of plug I should cut?

Thanks and HH! I can't wait to post my first California finds!

Last edited:

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2

Hey there - as you might know I am new to California and itching to get back out with my etrac. I've researched a few older parks in LA but not too sure on the areas yet and if they are safe. I am used to hunting in some shady areas of Chicago and usually very early Saturdays worked out good if we finished up and left by noon.

Does anyone have experience in LA? Anyone want to meet up for a hunt? I also know the more the marrier for hunting the shady parks.

I guess other questions I have is what are the ground conditions around LA? Is digging easy? How deep do coins sink here? Any special type of plug I should cut?

Thanks and HH! I can't wait to post my first California finds!