Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Feb 2007
    homemade/whites DFX/MinlabGP3000/Garret 250

Does gold tarnish?

I've always herd that gold doesn't tarnish.But I also herd that gold nuggets turn brown.then I herd that gold gets copper colared in sand.Can someone
    help?

us
    "The difference between genius and stupidity is genius has its limits."~Albert Einstein

Jan 2007
    Tesoro Bandido II and DeLeon. also a Detector Pro Headhunter Diver, and a Garrett BFO called The Hunter & a Garrett Ace 250.
    231 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

Re: Does gold tarnish?

I'm no expert, but.
    Gold doesn't tarnish. If you see gold with a tarnished LOOK, it'll be from whatever metal the gold is alloyed with.
    Gold nuggets are not pure. Other materials are mixed in during its formation--including any brown or black crusty coatings.
    "Dobie created the HUNGER............Von Mueller said, EAT". comment by HELM Associates on the dedication page of their book, Treaasure Lead Generation.

us
    da book worm--researcher

Feb 2007
    callahan,fl
    delta 4000 / ace 250 - used BH and many others too
    738 times
    Honorable Mentions (1)

"pure gold" does not tarnish---- however nuggets found in the wild are not pure thats why they need to be refined * what makes nuggets tarnished looking or other odd colors is other metals and minerals that mixed up with it (impurites) --- Ivan

us
    May 2007
    Western Colorado
    42 times

If gold lays on the surface of some soils it will in time get coated with trace minerals. These trace minerals in turn can turn odd colors.

For example Pegleg's black nuggets
    The black coating is actually what some call desert varnish. if the nugets are cleaned or even carried in a pocket for long they loose the black coating and become golden in color once again.

Hope this helps.

Mineral content can also turn gold red or green or bluish and even purple. Look at black hills gold, many colors, but no tarnish.