Maybe a Nipple protector. HELP

Alan Payne

Jan 3, 2018
Interlachen, Fl
Detector(s) used
GTP 1350 Garrett ; Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good afternoon everyone, I am new to the Civil War page. I am hoping that someone here could help me identify this piece I found yesterday. It is hard to describe, but it resembles a nipple protector. Thanks for looking at this item and all help is appreciated. civil war item.jpg protector bottom side.jpg protector other end.jpg square ends protector.jpg

Upvote 0

troutbum

Sep 14, 2014
Maryland
Detector(s) used
Minelab EXt 505, Tesoro Sand shark, Whites coinmaster pro. Tesoro Compadre.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It looks like a nipple protector, and it is. They were manufactured and made buy soldiers out of a lead bullet. When I was young I did Civil war reenacting. For my Union soldier impresion I used a factory one for my 1861 Springfield. For my Cofederate impresion I made one out of a 577 mini bullet for my Enfield.

Davers

Gold Member
Jan 8, 2013
N.of , I-285...GA
Detector(s) used
Whites Spc xlt & Tesoro Tejon- Now back ...Fisher 1266-X. TRX Pointer. New .Teknetics G2 + . New AT Pro .
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Tuff call there man.

It could be ???

OP
OP
Alan Payne

Alan Payne

Jan 3, 2018
Interlachen, Fl
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
thanks everyone for replying. I just wanted to bring something to light. The thing I found is open on both ends. It seems to me that the nipple protectors are only open on one end and this one is definitely made out of brass. Troutbum, do you have a picture of the factory ones you mentioned?

boogeyman

Gold Member
Jun 6, 2006
Out in the hills near wherendaheckarwe
Detector(s) used
WHITES, MINELAB, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting