one amp trickle batt, charger. 6 volt or 12 volt for cleaning coins

1liquigirl

Jun 13, 2005
Bellefonte, PA
Jon I'm new at this too, and want to purchase equiptment to do this. I don't know if the trickle charger would work, better leave that to the experts, but from reading other posts these are a few of the products they listed to put in the distilled water. As far as amounts, I would like to know that too.
-salt (not iodised)
-baking soda (sodium bicarbonate) This may be best over the salt, if just trying to use items around the house
-Soda Ash (sodium carbonate) You can get this fairly cheep at a pool supply store, suggested in a post: Aqua Clear brand (but brand does not matter) with pH increaser and the ingredients is what is important, look at the ingredients and look for: ingredients: Sodium Carbonate......................100%
Hope this helps. Any info on amounts of these ingredients vs. amount of water? Help us out here guys.

Michigan Badger

Gold Member
Oct 12, 2005
Northern, Michigan
Detector(s) used
willow stick
Primary Interest:
Other
jon43 said:
i seen were some of you use electrosis for cleaning coins from what i seen on here it works do you think this trickle charger would work and if it would work what kind of mix would i put in the water ??? thanks for any help :)

jon43, mix one tablespoon of baking soda into a coffee cup of water. This is approxamate so more or less is okay. The important thing is to mix it well so it doesn't sink to the bottom of the cup.

Just make sure you follow those online plans and get the connectors in the right places. The current must flow from the coin to the spoon.

If when you start the coin starts to turn blue or some funny color, reverse the connectors. The coin (not the spoon) should start to bubble first.

Here's a plan but I recommend baking soda in place of salt. Baking soda stays cleaner and works better. Use name brand baking soda.

http://gometaldetecting.com/electrolysis_cleaning.htm